Jörg Burger curates new Kompakt compilation-series „Velvet Desert Music“

Jörg Burger curates new Kompakt compilation-series „Velvet Desert Music“

Velvet Desert Music Vol. 1 introduces a new compilation series on Kompakt, curated by one of Cologne’s leading figures in electronic music, Jörg Burger (aka The Modernist, The Bionaut, Burger/Ink and many more).

February 19, 2019

Velvet Desert Music Vol. 1 combines elements of rock, folk, country, surf, krautrock and psychedelic in contemporary electronic music. Velvet Desert Music Vol.1 features unreleased music and mixes from Matias Aguayo, Fantastic Twins, Paulor, Rebolledo, Sascha Funke & Cosmo Vitelli, Superpitcher, The Modernist and more.

The concept shares some similarities to Kompakt’s Pop Ambient series as unlike a conventional compilation of tracks from different artists, Velvet Desert Music Vol.1 is a collection of music that creates a distinct vibe and atmosphere.

Jörg Burger is responsible for the concept and selection. The styles of music presented on Velvet Desert Music Vol. 1 play a crucial role and influence in his work for many years. Now he has created a platform for these styles. Beside showcasing his own music, Jörg Burger kept to inviting a close circle of friends and colleagues that share similar influences in their work. All of their contributions were specially composed or remixed for this collection.

Velvet Desert Music Vol. 1 features the first new Burger/Ink track since the release of their iconic full length “Las Vegas” on Harvest and Matador Records in 1996.

“Just think...from Sergio Leone to David Lynch, from Elvis in his deepest moments to Johnny Cash somewhere between amphetamine backlash and American Recordings, from Hollywood Babylon to Hotel California, from Mulholland Drive to Paris, Texas. Served with a pinch of Tago Mago and Pink Floyd at Pompeii. Then you know exactly what Velvet Desert Music is about...“ – JÖRG BURGER

Velvet Desert Music Vol. 1 releases March 29, 2019.

Get the single here: https://kompaktrecords.lnk.to/MountainEagleID
Pre-order the compilation here: https://kompaktrecords.lnk.to/VelvetDesertMusicVol1ID


Velvet Desert Music Vol. 1

Various Artists

Kompakt (Rough Trade)

Release date
March 29, 2019

CD / LP / Digital

01. Terrapin - Cirrus Minor (The Black Frame Extract)
02. The Modernist - Magic Lantern (Velvet Edit)
03. Burger / Ink - Memphisto
04. The Novotones - The Gain Of Loss
05. Cologne Tape - Welt 10 (Jörg Burger Mix)
06. Paulor - Arrival
07. Fantastic Twins - Pílgrims
08. Jörg Burger - Beatmesse Pt.2
09. Rebolledo & The Novotones - Mountain Eagle (The Black Frame Desert Mix)
10. Metope - Faithful Hessian Walks Into Ada’s Bar (Jörg Burger Remix)
11. Paul Mac - Redfern Address (In Memory Of Vision)
12. Sascha Funke & Cosmo Vitelli - Botzaris
13. Kenneth James Gibson - Far From Home (Superpitcher Mix)
14. Xu Xu Fang - Noir State Beach (The Modernist Mix)
15. The Velvet Orchestra - Encore

Our website uses cookies. By continuing to browse our site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. For further details on how we use data, please check our privacy policy.
Privacy Policy Ok