Omar Sosa & NDR Bigband – “Es:sensual”

“Es:sensual” is the new CD by Omar Sosa with the NDR Big Band. The album was arranged by Jaques Morelenbaum and is coming out on January 19, 2018.


Es:sensual presents a continuation of pianist-composer Omar Sosa’s collaboration with Hamburg’s NDR Bigband (North German Radio—Norddeutscher Rundfunk) and acclaimed Brazilian cellist-composer-arranger Jaques Morelenbaum, whose inaugural effort can be heard on the Omar Sosa-NDR Bigband CD Ceremony (Otá, 2010).


Recorded at NDR’s Hamburg studios under the direction of Sosa and Morelenbaum, Es:sensual features the latter’s vivid arrangements of selections from Omar’s CDs Free Roots (1997), Mulatos (2004), Promise (2007), Across the Divide (2009), and Ilé (2014).

Rooted in Afro-Cuban spiritual and percussive traditions and intimately versed in a range of contemporary world musics, Omar’s finely textured compositions present Morelenbaum with the foundation to summon forth an expansive palette of sounds, inspiring the NDR Bidband’s brilliant soloists, maximizing the ensemble’s sonic potential, and providing ample latitude for Sosa’s own luminous keyboard improvisations.








Album: es:sensual
Artists: Omar Sosa & NDR Bigband (arranged by Jaques Morelenbaum)
Release date: January 19, 2018



01. Cha Cha Du Nord
02. Reposo
03. L3zero
04. My Three Notes
05. Glu-Glu
06. Iyade
07. Angustiado
08. Sad Meeting